The Endellion String Quartet play Beethoven


An intimate performance by one of the finest string quartets in the world

Out of stock

SKU: SEV168.

The Endellion is renowned as one of the finest quartets in the world. Everywhere, the Endellion String Quartet ‘sets the audience ablaze’ (Daily Telegraph) and ‘captivates concertgoers with a remarkable rapport, playing to each other with a sense almost of discovery, communicating to the audience on a level of unusual intimacy’ (Guardian).

This DVD contains 3 performances of Beethoven quartets. The quartet texts used in these recordings have been prepared by the notable Beethoven scholar and editor, Jonathan Del Mar, in collaboration with the Endellion Quartet.

Opus 18, no. 6, String Quartet in B flat major

Opus 59, no.2 String Quartet in E minor ‘Razumovsky’

Opus 131, String Quartet in C sharp minor

“…these superb musicians respond to the dark undertow so characteristic of Beethoven’s quartets as much as the gentle lyricism which invariably breaks through.” – The Observer

1 x 106′



The Endellion Quartet:

Andrew Watkinson, violin

Ralph de Souza, Violin

Garfield Jackson, Viola

David Waterman, Cello

Filmed by Phil Grabsky

Edited by Tom Thistlethwaite

Main Feature: 106 minutes